Home Beer Firestone-Walker discontinues stalwarts Wookey Jack, Double Jack and Opal

Firestone-Walker discontinues stalwarts Wookey Jack, Double Jack and Opal

The Paso Robles, California-based brewery will phase out its Proprietor's Reserve line by the end of the year.
SHARE
CATEGORIES: Beer  

Courtesy of Firestone-Walker

Courtesy of Firestone-Walker

To quote Weezer, say it ain’t so. Paso Robles, California-based brewery Firestone-Walker will phase out its Proprietor’s Reserve line by the end of the year, which means it’s curtain close for Wookey Jack black IPA (one of our Top 25 Beers of the Year in 2012), Double Jack double IPA (which our tasting panel scored a 96) and Opal dry-hopped saison.

A press release from the brewery says that the Proprietor’s Reserve line was dedicated to “small-batch, standout” beers, but that the line will be phased out as it’s squeezed by Firestone-Walker’s widely distributed releases and the limited Vintage Reserve line of barrel-aged beers.

“The suspension of the Proprietor’s Reserve tier will create a void that the brewers here are extremely excited to fill,” says brewmaster Matt Brynildson in a statement. “It opens up a brand new canvas. That’s all I can say for now on that.”

All hope is not lost, though, for fans of Opal, Wookey Jack and Double Jack.

“Wookey isn’t dead yet, and neither are the others,” Brynildson says in the same statement. “They may make curtain calls as special limited releases, or get reimagined into something more fantastical, or both.”

 

Author
Kate Bernot is DRAFT’s beer editor. Reach her at kate.bernot[at]draftmag.com.

Brewery Travels
draftmag.com

Brewery Travels: My Favorite Brewery/Beer from Each State

In my ongoing quest to visit breweries all across this great land, I have now surpassed the 400 mark, and they’ve been spread across 37 states and 175+ cities. To celebrate this landmark, I’ve put together a ‘Special Edition’ of Brewery Travels: A rundown of my favorites in each of the states visited so far.

CATEGORIES: Beer   Feature   Midwest Breweries   Midwest Feature   Northeast Breweries   South Breweries   Travel   West Breweries  

draftmag.com

Why a Miller Lite Was the Best Beer I’ve Ever Had

I’ve worked in craft beer for nearly five years now. I’ve had the fortune to try some truly amazing brews: Pliny the Elder, Heady Topper, Bourbon Barrel Aged Expedition Stout. Supplication? I’ve got one in my mini-fridge. The reason I’m telling you this is because I want to frame my statements here properly. I’ve had good beer, trust me. The best beer I’ve ever had, though, was a Miller Lite.

CATEGORIES: Beer   MIDWEST   Midwest Feature  

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

199 queries in 2.608 seconds.