Best Beer for Yeast Intolerance to Drink in Your Next Party

Best beer for yeast intolerance in beer bottlesThe best beer for yeast intolerance is available in the market for you. Moreover, yeast intolerance is a disease that you get from a fungus called Candida Albicans, or the dysbiosis of the intestinal flora.

If you suffer from this intolerance but would love to try beer, look no further, as we are going to outline all of the yeast free beer brands for you below, along with other facts about the role of yeast in beer. Keep on reading to find all of this out!

Which Ingredient is Dangerous for the Intolerants?

Beer is something not to consume for someone who is intolerant and allergic to yeast, as its main ingredient is a substance called macerate that is combined in the water before the fermentation process. Doctors also prohibit people with celiac disease from drinking it, as they too have a sensitivity to this particular ingredient.

Don’t fret if you are one of those people! There are beers without yeast created for you and we are going to let you know all about them.

Best Beers for Yeast Intolerance

There are numerous yeast-free products available in the market since the number of yeast intolerant people has increased. The development of new analysis techniques made it possible to detect this disease after conducting some medical tests, so it can be diagnosed before consuming too many products that have yeast and can cause numerous issues.

Moreover, beer without brewers yeast is obtained through a production technique but takes advantage of a spontaneous fermentation described as “lambic”. The beers that we outline below are created through this exact technique, so let’s go ahead and see each one.

– Omission: A Yeast Free Beer

People who are under the gluten-and-yeast-free diet probably know about Omission. In case that you are not aware of it, here is a little information:

Omission Brewing Company is a famous brand that started for a bit of a dreary reason; the owner’s wife was diagnosed of having Celiac disease. All he wished to do was to sit back, relax, and enjoy a cool one with the misses. That’s when he came up with the idea of creating a brewing company that would cater to those with celiac disease and yeast intolerances.

The Omission company brews its drinks in a traditional, more oversized style. However, they do not distill out the gluten stemming from the barley. Despite that, this beer can still amaze the people who choose to drink it.

Even though the Omission company tests every batch of the brew internally and in an independent lab using the R5 Competitive ELISA to make sure that they have removed the gluten ingredient, people with severe celiac disease might want to opt-out of liquor, wine, or hard seltzers. Notably, Ommission bottles have less than 20 parts per million of gluten, which is equivalent to less than 0.002 percent.

In any case, Omission has consistently made many regular-beer lovers happy as they enjoyed their drinks, so if you are moderately intolerant to yeast and gluten you can give it a go as it is beer-lover approved.

– Stella Artois: A Beer Made Without Yeast

Stella Artois is one of the yeast free filtered beer manufactured out there. According to numerous advertisements, this drink has only four ingredients: Hops, Malted Barley, Maize, and water.

A beer made without yeast still uses yeast as an ingredient in the fermentation process but do not worry because they remove it before packaging. This famous beer has been serving the vegans as isinglass (fish bladder) since 2009, but they are not using it anymore to remove traceable amounts of yeast.

This beer is brewed in Belgium and the United Kingdom, yet its products are available worldwide. The beers exported from Europe are produced at InBev’s Belgium brewery and packaged well in the Beck’s Brewery in Bremen, Germany. Lion also brews Stella Artois for the Australian Market.

On the other hand, the drink is imported and distributed in the United States by Anheuser-Busch. Aside from that, it is also brewed by Borsod Brewery in Hungary under the license from InBev. Finally, Labatt Brewery produces the drink in Ontario, Canada. So, you’ll be able to get it wherever you are in the world.

Can You Make Alcohol Without Yeast?

In short, no. Most people with yeast intolerance are not aware of this, but yeast is one of the ingredients used for the alcohol-making process. You can only taste and savor it that way if yeasts are included.

Without the presence of yeast, there is no way – so far – to turn sugar into alcohol. Some alcohols will advertise being yeast-free, but they are most likely referring to not containing manually added powdered or other types of processed yeast.

– Yeast And Its Role in Alcohol

Yeast can do a lot in your alcohol. It belongs to the microorganism family and is known for being part of the fungi category. Manufacturers say that yeast is the essential ingredient for alcohol-making since it is responsible for fermentation.

If you are wondering how the fermentation process occurs, it starts when oxygen is not present inside a container of a drink or food. The absence of oxygen then, makes the yeast create a chemical reaction. The result of this process produces the sugar that is in your alcohol.

– Is There Any Beer That Does Not Contain Brewer’s Yeast?

Best beer for yeast intoleranceYes, some beer craft suppliers are removing yeasts from beers. For example, lagers and ales fall under the “gluten-free” label.

Yeast-free beer is created using yeast, but filtration processes can remove the yeast from the final product if you do not know. According to law, all domestic beer in the United States, such as Budweiser, is yeast-free.

– What Beer Can The People In the Candida Diet Drink?

It is usually best for people currently taking the Candida diet prescribed by their doctors to replace pure alcohol with gluten-free beer options. People who follow this diet may also try to taste other alcoholic beverages like ciders, wines, and other liquors that do not contain yeast. However, removing yeast from your drink can affect its color, flavor, and quality.

Lambic Beers

What suits people who don’t drink beers is called lambic beer If you are not familiar with it, lambic is an elite product. However, it is difficult to find this drink in different stores or supermarkets because of its limited production.

People may only find a massive production of this beer in the Payottenland region of Belgium and the southern part of Brussels. You may also explore numerous parts of Europe to find it since stores and shops also offer beers that use the same process on their basis, called lambic-style and pseudo-lambic beers.

Lambic beers are different from the traditional ales and lagers when it comes to the perfect fermentation processes. When making the lambic one, you do the process naturally. However, keep in mind that the beer is in close contact with wild yeasts and bacteria that the Senne’s valley, located in Brussels, is known for.

– A Lambic Beer For Every Taste

Lambic beer is known for being a wine that has a dry taste and comes with a sour flavor which is similar to an apple cider. Servers usually mix it with fruity syrups that create different beer flavors to make the palate more pleasant and exciting.

For example, you can create framboise when you add a raspberry syrup. Aside from that, you can also try to generate faro by adding sugar to it. Adding black cherries can transform it into a kriek.

– Lambic Gueuze

Lastly, you may also want to check lambic gueuze out. You can obtain it by mixing an aged lambic (at least one year of aging) with another older lambic. After doing so, the drink is put in a bottle, ready to undergo the second fermentation from the fermentable sugars of the youngest aged beer.

The makers ensure the preservation of the gueuze in a horizontal position, unlike other beers that are placed vertically. In addition, believe it or not, the second fermentation helps enhance the quantity of carbon dioxide that creates a possibility for the shopper not to resist it.

Lastly, you may serve it by using champagne bottles with a cork stopper and iron net.

How Common are Yeast Allergies?

There are 50 million Americans who have allergies, according to the record made by the American College of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology. There is a small number of people who have food allergies, including individuals suffering from yeast allergies.

– Yeast Intolerance

Studies say that yeast intolerance has less severe symptoms. Unlike a person with yeast allergies, it is commonly related to gastrointestinal conditions.

– Yeast Allergy

Yeast allergy is something that you should look after. It can affect your entire body and create skin problems, mood changes, and whole-body pain. It is recommended to consult your doctors if you have allergic reactions as it can cause long-term damage to your body. A true allergy can cause your immune system to be weak, and it cannot respond well to a foreign substance that may harm your health in the end.

– Symptoms

The symptoms of yeast allergy may be different for every person. But the common denominator and significant signs of having it are the following:

  • abdominal swelling
  • breathing difficulties
  • dizziness
  • joint pain

Final Note

Best beer for yeast intolerance beer in glassesSome people think that a yeast allergy is a cause why people who love to drink alcohol get red and blotchy skin. However, the rashes they refer to are an allergy-like reaction only related to sulfur dioxide in some alcoholic drinks. Sulfur dioxide can make these reactions happen when it is mixed with some wheat-containing foods used as preservatives. A histamine release and tannins can trigger the rashes as well. In short, yeast allergy is not the cause of your rashes when drinking.

5/5 - (18 votes)
Draft Mag

Leave a Comment